Skint.

The weekend began with a very eerie, late-night trip to school for a walk and a chat on swing sets that are impossible to photograph in the dark. I had fun with colours and imagery in my effort to create something to help you visualise that journey and the criss-cross feeling of “I shouldn’t be here, school is over” and “this is so stripped back and intense”, though. So there’s that.

pre-outing over-the-shoulder selfie with Andy while she watched Hannibal

IMG_1343

I went out on Saturday with Kate and Andy and we ended up in a little shop/café (I don’t know what to call it, really) named Mochiko. It sells Mochi, which are Japanese rice cakes, but they’re filled with different flavours of ice cream and pastes.

IMG_1342

It’s a very cute, out-of-the-way place, shoved into a corner of one of the lower floors of the mall. With the exception of a mother and a child who came in fifteen minutes later, we were the only ones in there.

IMG_1337

Andy’s cookie dough bar with green tea filling (P49)

Kate and I both had the cookie dough bars with their regular filling (vanilla, I believe?), also for P49.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

IMG_1338

One thing I do want to point out is this shop’s exquisite décor. Everything’s so beautifully presented, with pink and black complementing each other wonderfully. Come on, there’s a wall of dancing cats, for crying out loud! This place is perfect!

IMG_1324

IMG_1408

IMG_1353 IMG_1352

My pull from this day out was five items of make-up. I never have any decent eyeliner, so I bought myself the e.l.f. studio Waterproof Eyeliner Crayon in brown — I’m rubbish at liquid and brushes and things like that, as they’re all too flimsy and I don’t usually need eyeliner to look perfect. (The meaning of that sentence to you depends on how you read it.) I also bought a lip stain, the e.l.f. studio Lip Stain in Red Carpet, which comes with a clear lip gloss on the other side, which leaves you the choice of choosing the finish (glossy or matte). I’m a red girl, through and through, when it comes to lips.

I bought the Maybelline New York Clear Smooth BB White, but I guess I’m not the BB Cream type. I’ve heard it works wonders but it just makes my skin look oily and worse than before? Perhaps once I’ve fully escapes the throes of puberty, that’ll change. Either way, that’s the purchase I’m least happy with.

My two absolute favourite buys were both from Maybelline New York: the Color Tattoo Gel-Cream Eyeshadow in 65 Gold Rush and the Falsies Volum’ Express Waterproof MascaraI just love both of these products so much.

My eyelashes are naturally quite long, but they tend to go more and more blonde towards the ends, so the Falsies was perfect, because the brush leaves everything one uniform black colour and hasn’t clumped for me. I bought it at the recommendation of Miss Tanya Burr, who is constantly using it and claims that she’s in love. Good job, Tanya.

I don’t have much to say on the eyeshadow beyond the fact that I’m totally in love with it. That’s it. It’s perfect. I’ve been skeptical, but I was proven so, so wrong.

IMG_1346 IMG_1348

Yesterday was also an opportunity for Kate to show off some of her new Paris looks (she’s taking a trip there for Spring Break, while I am going nowhere. Sigh.) I think she looks very cute. Head over to her blog for more on that, though.

We did a bit of looking around but because of my consumption of Jamba Juice and Serenitea earlier in the day, and my make-up spending, my funds were running low. I also didn’t take pictures of anything because we were trying on clothes and none of them were very flattering. (I will never fit into Topshop anything or look any good in it so why do I even bother #ughlife)

For a late lunch, we went to California Pizza Kitchen even though Andy and I had barely any money.

IMG_1367

Finally, a second photo of me appears in this post!

IMG_1379

The three of us ordered the Margherita Pizza (P395) and it was beyond delicious. We were originally only going to get a dessert, but then it was agreed that we needed to eat something sustainable after only having eat cookie dough bars the entire day.

IMG_1376

As previously mentioned, Andy and I had next to no money, so we had to wait until the ice melted in Kate’s drink and then take turns sipping from that. (It’s not our fault CPK doesn’t give complimentary water!)

IMG_1377

The Lush queen and her bath ballistics.

Right. That’s all from me x

~~~

epigram #1:

I usually go to this one bookstore called Fully Booked whenever I’m with Kate and go to this particular mall, but this time I didn’t, and then I ended up buying the make-up before finding out that The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, which I’ve been meaning to read forever, was available to buy. I’m seriously heartbroken.

epigram #2:

IMG_1402

Last night’s lemon and spinach couscous. I know I shouldn’t have trusted something out of a box to be perfect, but I really wish the spinach was bigger and more plentiful. It would’ve rounded the whole thing out more and made it more enjoyable. Oh well, it’s still couscous. Israeli couscous is my fave, though. Hands down.

Leave a Reply

