Festival Adventures

Last weekend was a busy one for me, and it began with the annual International Food Festival that I went to with a group of my friends. The International Food Festival, or as it’s colloquially known, the “Foodfest”, happens around this time of March each year.

 

There are always lots of booths around with every kind of activity under the sun, but I’m more one for observing, so I watched my friends ride a mechanical bull and dunk our English teacher in a tank filled with water. (I have both on film, but they’re really not worth watching. Sorry to all parties involved.)

On the other side of the school, in the Atrium, there were tables of food from almost every country under the sun. That’s why it’s called the International Food Festival, because that’s exactly what it is. The whole event is organised by the Junior class (grade eleven, or year twelve) to help raise money to fund their prom, and especially the Seniors’ (it’s the Junior-Senior prom, but the entire thing is paid for by Juniors, more or less).

Since I was neither a Junior nor someone who would be attending Prom, I didn’t really have much to do beyond enjoying myself and the sun and the time with my friends that I otherwise probably would have spent procrastinating.

Unfortunately, I didn't get to eat much, but what I did eat was from the Dutch table (with the exception of Buffalo wings)! I had two fried rice disks, and two bitter balls, but they weren't very bitter. Either way, everything was delicious!

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to eat much, but what I did eat was from the Dutch table (with the exception of Buffalo wings)! I had two fried rice disks, and two bitter balls, but for some reason, they weren’t very bitter. Either way, everything was delicious!

Kim and Kate, the Flower Crown Queens.

Kim and Kate, the Flower Crown Queens.

 

Andy the Make-up Guru, Vol. I (she's had to re-dye her hair, and it was meant to be black, but it's gone a solid shade of purple.)

Andy the Make-up Guru, Vol. I (she’s had to re-dye her hair, and it was meant to be black, but it’s gone a solid shade of purple.)

Towards the end of the night, there’s always a talent show. I wasn’t part of it, though I did spend the whole thing jumping up and down and shouting along to the lyrics and dancing like I was at an actual festival – Glastonbury or something – instead of the school fair. Also, the flash on my camera made most of the photos I took seem “hella rad”. Example:

 

There was also a fireworks show right at the end, as there is every year, but unlike previous festivals, this time I actually got some decent pictures!

There's art in a bit of blur, isn't there?

There’s art in a bit of blur, isn’t there?

The sky's regenerating!

The sky’s regenerating!

 

Personally, I'm shocked at the near-perfect symmetry of this shot. Oh goodness me!

Personally, I’m shocked at the near-perfect symmetry of this shot. Oh goodness me!

All right, that’s it from me! I really, really enjoyed this Foodfest, and I can’t wait to be behind the reins next year. I’m sorry if this post was a bit ‘lax in terms of general content, but I hope I gave you some interesting pictures to look at. I took so many I couldn’t be bothered to put in the post. #lazybonesblogger

See you soon!

 

Leave a Reply

